Sex & Violent Offender Registration

Effective July 1, 1994, Zachary's Law required sheriff's departments to jointly establish the Indiana Sex and Violent Offender Registry to provide detailed information about individuals who register as sex or violent offenders in Indiana. Effective July 1, 2007, “Stephanie’s Law” required the registration of offenders convicted of Voluntary Manslaughter and Murder, creating the Indiana Sex and Violent Offender Registry. The purpose of the registry is to track, locate, and identify Sex and Violent Offenders. Some of this information is published to allow the public to make informed decisions  about the identity, location, and appearance of sex and violent offenders who live, work, or study in Indiana.

On July 1, 2006, the Indiana Department of Correction replaced the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute as the agency that oversees the State's Sex and Violent Offender Registration and Registry efforts. As a part of this new responsibility, the Department provides judges, law enforcement officials, prosecuting attorneys, parole officers, probation officers, and community corrections officials with information and training concerning the requirements of Indiana Code 11-8-8 and the use of the Indiana Sex and Violent Offender Registry.

Overview of Zachary's Law

Zachary’s Law was passed in 1994 in honor of Zachary Snider, a 10 year old Cloverdale, Indiana boy who was molested and murdered by a neighbor who had been previously convicted of child molesting. Under Zachary’s Law, convicted sex offenders are required to register with the local law enforcement authority of their county of residence. The Zachary Law statute 5-2-12 was replaced in July of 2006 by Indiana statute IC 11-8-8. This statute now details the duties and responsibilities of law enforcement agencies across the state, as well as the responsibilities of the convicted offender. 

There are five types of offenders:

More than one classification can be applied to an offender. The most restrictive classification will be published. Offenders required to register in other jurisdictions will be required to register in Indiana with the appropriate classification. 

There are two registration periods: 10 year and lifetime.

Sexually Violent Predators must register for life. Other offenders convicted of a sex offense against a victim who was under the age of 12, have a previous unrelated conviction for a triggering offense for the registry, offenders who were convicted of using force or the threat of force against the victim or a member of the victim’s family, or who rendered the victim unconscious or otherwise incapable of giving voluntary consent must register for life. Offenders convicted in another jurisdiction must register for the period required by the other jurisdiction, or the period required under Indiana law, whichever is longer.

Offenders not described above must register for 10 years. This registration period starts the day the offender is released from incarceration or the day the offender is placed on parole or probation, whichever occurs last.

Offenders who committed a triggering offense prior to July 1st, 1994 are not subject to registration requirements if they have not been required to register in any other jurisdiction pursuant to Indiana Supreme Court Case Wallace v. State. See the Supreme Court’s Opinion at:

Offender Residency Restrictions:

SOME offenders are not permitted to live within 1000 feet of school property; not including property of an institution providing post-secondary education (Colleges), a youth program center, or a public park pursuant to IC 35-42-4-11.

This rule depends on the offender’s classification AND the date they committed the offense.  This means that this rule does not apply to SOME Sexually Violent Predators pursuant to Indiana Court of Appeals case; Cundiff v. State of Indiana.  See the Court of Appeals opinion at:

All sex or violent offenders are required to notify the local law enforcement authority (in Vigo County this means The Vigo County Sheriff’s Department) within 3 days of any change in principal address, employment, schooling, or any other change in their required registration information.

Offender Work Restrictions: 

A Sexually Violent Predator or Offender Against Children who works or volunteers on school property, at a youth program center or at a public park commits unlawful employment near children by a sexual predator. Unlawful Employment Near Children by a Sexual Predator is a felony (IC 35-42-4-10).

Schools Off Limits:

Policy was adopted on March 24, 2009 by the Vigo County School Corporation that all registered Sex Offenders are trespassed from Vigo County School Corporation Property. Sex Offenders may have limited circumstances granted by the Vigo County School Corporation when they have a right or legitimate educational need to come upon school property. Such circumstances require the Sex Offender to contact the Director of Student Services to form an Individual Access and Child Protection Plan (IACPP). Sex Offenders who appear on school property outside of their IACPP are subject to being removed and/or prosecuted for Criminal Trespass. For questions regarding this policy, refer to the Vigo County School Corporation at or via phone at (812) 462-4011.

Serious Sex Offenders, Offenders Against Children, and Sexually Violent Predators are prohibited from entering school property at any time. Doing so is a felony (IC 35-42-4-14).

To review information on offenders in Vigo County please click the link below:

If an offender has been living, working, or going to school at an address other than the address listed on the Vigo County Sex Offender Registry or the Indiana Sex Offender Registry, that offender MAY be in violation of the law.

Please call the Vigo County Sheriff’s Department’s Sex and Violent Offender office at 812-462-3226 x 7341 so they can determine the offender’s status.

You can also submit information anonymously at Wabash Valley Crime Stoppers Tips may also be submitted through the State Registry Portal at

Lobby Kiosk Registration

There is a designated kiosk in the vestibule of the Vigo County Sheriff’s Office. It is there for Sex & Violent Offenders who are homeless to sign in and update your offender information. 

Following the sign in, please update your information with the State of Indiana SVOR site as applicable.

**Offenders should be aware that the use of the kiosk does NOT replace annual or quarterly in-person registration requirements.  All offenders must appear in-person on the schedule required by the registry.

If offenders want to make an appointment or ask a question, please do so by calling 812-462-3226 x 7341.

All registrations are done in person Monday through Friday, by appointment. The office is closed on holidays and weekends.


Whereas, Vigo County, Indiana, acting by and through the County Council and Board of Commissioners for the County of Vigo, State of Indiana, pursuant to Indiana Code 36-2-13-5.6 and at the request of the Vigo County Sheriff, has adopted an Ordinance allowing the Vigo County Sheriff to charge annual sex or violent offender registration fees and address change fees for sex or violent offenders; and

Whereas, pursuant to Indiana Code 36-2-13-5.6, the annual sex or violent offender registration fee is hereby established as Fifty Dollars ($50.00) per year for the registration of sex or violent offenders and Five Dollars ($5.00) for each time a sex or violent offender registers an address change with the Vigo County Sheriff’s Department; and fees will start being collected on May 1st, 2021.

These fees are described in full in Indiana Code 11-8-8-21 and 36-2-13-5.6. The following fees and fee schedule will apply:

Annual Registration Fee


To be paid on date of first registration/verification of every calendar year.

Address Change Fee


To be paid when reporting a change to any address.*

These fees will be required to be paid by the registrant in cash or with a money order or cashiers check made payable to The Vigo County Sheriff’s Office. No other form of payment will be accepted by the Vigo County Sheriff’s Office. A receipt will be issued for the payment and a payment history will be created for every registrant in their registration record. Fees must be paid in full. No partial payments will be accepted.

Fees will be required for the registrant to complete their registration and meet their obligations to the Sex and Violent Offender Registry. Indiana Code 11-8-8-17 states that inability to pay the fee is not a defense to prosecution. Failure to pay fees may result in failure to register. Failure to Register is a felony.

If offenders want to make an appointment or ask a question, please do so by calling 812-462-3226 x 7341 or via email

*Address change fee does not apply to registrants entering or remaining in Temporary/Homeless status. The annual $50.00 fee will remain in effect.